My Witchy Beginnings

cropped-old-fence-by-the-sea.jpg

Both of my parents consider themselves nonreligious, so growing up, they never indoctrinated any particular religion on me.  My mother is a South Korean, and was raised as a Korean Buddhist, but as far as I know, has stopped practicing Buddhism.   My dad, who met and fell in love with her while stationed as an Army soldier at the DMZ outside of Seoul, has mixed Irish-Scot-English-Dutch ancestry with a dash of Shawnee or Cherokee Indian DNA, so while he was never baptized under any particular Christian denomination, there were certain dormant Catholic and Protestant influences mixed in with Native American philosophy in his life.  I was pretty much allowed to explore spirituality, and shared my questions with different family members throughout my life.

It wasn’t until I was in my early twenties, after my paternal grandparents died and I started tracing my paternal family roots, that I realized that I was drawn to the primordial forms of Taoism (animism), shamanism, and witchcraft.  Dreams, journal-writing, and other synchronous events led me to  meet other pagans who were discussing ancestral worship on certain cyber bulletin boards in the early days of the World Wide Web.  There, I was hooked, and introduced to other pagan studies such as dream-working, tarot cards, and (gasp) spell-working.

Never did I doubt that witchcraft existed in the old days, and as a little girl, I almost always chose to dress up either as a witch or a Native American squaw.  It just hadn’t occurred to me that the Old Religion managed to find a way to stay alive, albeit half-reinvented for today’s witches.  The more I looked, the more I wanted to learn.

So, ultimately, I left my solitary path and joined a small British Traditional Wicca coven for formal training, and learned even more Crafty skills.  I loved the training, and looked forward to our weekly meetings, made wonderful lifelong friends, and together we celebrated esbats and sabbats.  Life, as usual, brought up different challenges and once more, I am solitary, but my friends and I still get together occasionally and share tidbits and bits of trivia about the things we loved studying.  The study of the Craft, I always tell people, is not a hobby but a lifestyle.

I’ve come to this point in life where I realize that knowledge must be tempered with practical wisdom; however, wisdom is not something to muse in silence but to be gently shared with those who want to know.  Thus, my blog has been reinvented tonight to give voice to wisdom cultivated, humor sown, and creativity nurtured.

