Been a Busy Little Bee…

The last month has been a whirlwind of activities as I focus on building a profitable freelance writing career from home, clearing space in my home to feng shui standards (more on that in the near future), and starting a garden plot in the nearby community garden. 

Living in an urban apartment has its pitfalls, including a lack of green space to grow vegetables and herbs. It’s worse when the current space has too much shade on the patio for the kind of green things that demand full sun for most of the day. (pout pout!!!) 

So, when I sent out a wish to the universe that I wanted a place to grow my herbs and vegetables and build a nice relationship with the local land spirits, also known as genii loci, a tiny ad in a local alternative newspaper (that I rarely read) caught my eye the very next day. There was space to rent in a nearby community garden!!! I met with the coordinator and toured the garden, which was situated in a pass-key protected gated section of this city park, and liked it enough to rent a 15×20 plot for $45 a year.

The plot was rough and weedy, having been neglected for several years. The community shed housed the standard tools (shovels, hoes, and rakes) that we can use, and there are spigots conveniently placed every few yards to run hoses for watering our plants.

It took me three hot sweaty days to clear the plot free of weeds and to turn the soil over. I keep in reasonable shape at my gym but the gardening activity had me sore in places that the kettlebells obviously didn’t touch. Ugh!!!

The starter plants included zucchini, watermelon, cherry tomatoes, lemon cucumbers, and several varieties of pepper plants. I also planted rosemary, basil, dill and lavender, and added a batch of marigolds (my grandma’s favorite flowers) for instant color. Finally, I sown daikon, red radishes, onions and garlic chives. I said a little garden blessing and began building a relationship with the little local spirit by adding tea and honey to the small inauspicious corner altar.

The cucumbers and the dill immediately wilted and didn’t look like they were going to handle the transplanting well and I fussed over them. It took a week of sweet talk and lots of TLC but most of the plants are now doing well after a month, with much thanks to the advice of the little garden spirit. I now need to research and find out why my little tomato plant is not thriving; it’s possible I need to add more tomato plant food or offer up blood (kidding!!!).

basil

I promise to upload pictures of my little garden spot soon. I’m already thinking of what I will plant for the fall harvest, including more herbs.

